Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Playing sports can teach people lessons about life.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

People need to do special activities different from daily activities that distract them from daily life and help them to clear their minds such as going to movies, having dinner with close friends and playing sports. However, choosing between these activities is important. Here, we are going to elaborate playing sports. Playing sports is known that it helps people to have a suitable physical health and good body shape. A question that can be raised in this regard is that whether playing sports has other benefits or not. One reoccurring idea states that playing sports helps people to learn lessons about their life. I concur with this idea and in the ensuing lines, I delve into two reasons to substantiate my point.

The first reason is that playing sports teach you how to be a team member and cooperate with others. If you playing sports in a group like football, basketball or volleyball you need to interact not only with your team members but also with your opponent team members. So, you should develop specific skills to handle upcoming situations such as internal disputes or fighting with the other team. Also, you need to play as a team and follow some strategies and plans to be successful. Then, you couldn’t do any movements without considering your teammates. For example, when I was playing football in high school, I usually was a capitan of a team and I cared about everybody in my team and checked the harmony of the play. Therefore, not only was my ability to be a team member improved but also I learned a little about how the leader should treat others.

Secondly, playing sports helps you to learn from your successes and failures in your life. Almost in every sports, you have an opponent to play with him/her or you pursue sports as a professional career. More or less in both situations, the result of competitions is important for you. If you win the game, you probably will happy and feel what winners feel when they see their efforts bring a pleasant results. In contrast, losing make you feel bad and think about the roots of this mess and trying to plan to improve yourself for the next time. These feeling and consequence actions teach you how to handle real successes and failures in your life. Take, for instance, you are going to lunch a new product in market and the result is not explicit. But you prepare for both a bad and good results and you know what you should do in the futures. As result, you have a better understanding of an up and downs of a life and you wouldn’t show extreme reaction to unpredictable situations.

In summary, all the aforementioned ideas bring us to the conclusion that playing sports helps us to learn about our lives as we need to learn how to be a member of a team and how to learn from our achievements and failures. Thus, let us hope that people take playing sports more seriously in their lives.