All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

When asked about whether all unversity students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is, the vast majority of people believe that there is no need for students to learn history; Instead, university students should concentrate on their major courses like business or environmental science in order to become more professional in those field. But I hold a totally opposite view: it is indispensable for university students to take history courses regardless of their major field. My arguments are listed as follows.

First of all, attending history classes can boost students' competitiveness in job-hunting. As for why, that's mainly because history courses usually require students to cultivate their critical-thinking ability and the ability of sorting out useful information, which are both crucial capacities at work. To be more specific, if students take history curriculums, they might have to look through plenty of data in a relatively limited time. Therefore, as time goes by, they are likely to have the capacity of finding helpful information from hundreds of messages. Besides, university students may need to analyze some of the hisorical events and give their comments on them. Thus, they could develop your critical thinking skills by trying to analyze those events in a more comprehensive way. With those two abilities that most employers want their employees to have, students could become more competitive than others during job-seeking, increasing the possibility of getting hired by companies.

Second, university students can enlarge their interpersonal circles by taking history classes. If students only attend classes that are related to their major, they may only meet people who also study in that field, which will greatly confine their diversity of friends. Under this circumstance, after they graduate, if students are asked to do a history-related project in companies, they will not know what to do since they do not take that course at college and not have related interpersonal network, which may lower their working performance and thus hinder them from getting promotion. However, if all university students are required to attend this class, they will gather together due to this policy. As a result, a wonderful chance is provided for students to expand their outlook and make more friends from not only history major, but also others like chemistry, communication, psychology and so on.

To sum up, the conclusion can safely be drawn that taking history courses no matter what the major field is should become compulsory for all university students due to all the benefits it could provide for students after they graduate and enter into firms.