Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past.

Nowadays, technological advancements make a plethora of changes in people's lives, so that the way that they live is quite different form the past. There is a controversy between people that whether these changes make more satisfactory and happiness in their lives or not. A popular belief in this regard is that they are much happier with their lives than people were in the past, whereas, the other group of people have a complete opposite view about this idea. Personally, I agree with the former. In the ensuing lines, I will attempt to support this idea through 2 reasons.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that technological advancements, like the internet, make people to be more satisfied with their lives. Internet enables people to be aware of what is going on around the globe. In the past, people were living in a remote area. If there was an event happening in the world, they had to wait for a long time in order to be informed about it. Also, if people wanted to get informed regarding their relatives, they had to write a letter to them, which took a several days to get a response. That being said, by advancing in technology and appearance of the internet, people's lives have changed completely. Today, they are not secluded anymore. They can be informed regarding the events happening around the world immediately by reading news on the internet and through social networks. Besides, if they want to make a communication with their relatives, who are living in another country, they can write a letter to them and send it via email and get its response immediately or follow them in social networks, such as facebook, instagram, or twitter. Thus, today, people are much happier and more satisfied with their lives than people were in the past.

The second reason which deserves some words here is that medical advancements make people to live much longer than the past. Today, people can cure their illnesses much easier. In the past, the medical science was not very advanced. Many sicknesses were not identified to people and there was a possibility that they died due to a simple cold. That being said, thanks to the advancements in technology, the medical science is very advanced today. The reason of many diseases are marked today and people can prevent themselves from them. For example, they know that the reason of catching cold can be dirty hands and thus, If they get sick, there are a considerable number of pills and vaccins they can use in order to feel better. Also, doctors are now more capable to monitor the cause of these diseases by using high-tech devices and as a result, they can help people to live much longer than the past. Hence, people are now much happier with their lives than people in the past.

To put it all in a nutshell, nowadays, thanks to the technological advancements, people are much happier with their lives than the past owing to the fact that unlike the 100 years ago, people can be more in contact with each other by using the internet. Also today, people can cure a wide range of sicknesses due to advancements in medicine science and as a result, they can live much longer than the past.