Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past

With the skyrocketing development of modern soceity,the environmental issues are becoming increasingly severe.Nearly everyone around the world has some responsibility to cope with this issue.Some people suggest that individuals actually are capable of dealing with environmental issues.However,others hold the idea that environmental issues are too complex for individuals to handle.When it comes to me,I agree with the latter opinion.

Admittedly, the efforts put by each individual could improve the environment to some extent.For instance, picking up litters on the ground,utilizing more public transportation instead of private automobiles, protecting trees in the wild and etc all could help environmental issues.However, I indicate that these kinds of efforts could only function to a small degree.In terms of the complexity of environmental issues,individuals can't cope with them thouroughly.

First of all,since environmental issues always are related to economic benefits of certain parties or companies,individuals' efforts could hardly work in these circumstances.For instance,there is a factory in the southeast of China,which discharges the polluted water directly into the Yellow River without any putrificaion.Although the owner of this factory knows how much damage this would do to the environment, he never wants to import new technology which costs him too much.The citizens in that village who suffer from these problems have talked numerous times with that owner,but there are never any changes.Finally,it is the government that forces this factory putrify poisonous water before emitting.In this case,when environmental issues are concerned with money,individuals seldom make a huge difference for this.

What's more,enviromental issues are always global,which means certain individuals' efforts are too insignificant too completely handle them.Only by the cooperation of countries all over the world can help solve enviromental issue.For instance,if developed countries prohibit the burning of coal or other fossil fuel,but other developing countries in the rest of the world burn hundreds and even thousands tons of gasoline each day, can the global warming get helped to any extent? The whole world is together, only some individuals formidable efforts could be easily wasted if there are a few others continue polluting the environment without any limitation.Another example is about the haze weather.When Beijing has an awful hazy day, the air in Tokyo and Seoul could be negatively impacted.These problems can only be solved by collaboration of three countries.From this perspective, enviromental issues are too global to be solved by individuals.

Based on the discussion above,in spite of the fact that individuals help with environmental problems to some degree,I still suggest those issues are too intricate to be handled by individuals.

With rocketing development of modern society, advances in technology have made it possible for people to live a convenient and colorful life, in which they can have easy access to all the information, commodities, and resources they need. Thus some individuals suppose that people are happier than before, while others hold the opposite idea. From my perspective, I am in favor of the latter one.

Admittedly, living in modern society means people can enjoy benefits brought by technology, such as purchasing goods in another country without stepping out their house, reaching to a far area within several hours by plane. Thus, some people seem to live under the illusion that they equate convenience with happiness. However, they fail to take into account the fact that along with the convenience, more stress appears in our lives, which exerts passive effects on our emotions.

For one thing, increasing work stress have, to some extent, disturbed our normal lives with our families. Nowadays, it is common to see that mothers take their children to go to school, to play. The father, who has to support daily expense, endeavor themselves to work harder and harder, and spend tons of time in their works, in order to provide a pleasant life condition to his kid and wife. The fathers are under great pressure because they cannot afford being fired. Thus, they merely have the access to enjoy the happy time with their families.

Furthermore, people are experience more estrangement recently. People in increasing number have felt that they have few friend that are true friends. The interpersonal relations just collapse over time as the consequence of the development of technology. An illustrating example is that what happens on the way to work. Standing on the subway, it is common that everyone around just look at their cell phone, can low their heads. At times, some old man or lady need a seat, people besides can just ignore this or they merely can see it.

Based on the discussion above, in spite of the convenience from the rapid development of modern society, the pressure along with it just make people less happy. And the disadvantages far outweigh its positive sides and will play a significant role on our lives.