Children over the age of 15 should be allowed to vote.

Voting in a democracy is a very important act of patriotism. Not every country allows its citizens to participate; therefore, we should really appreciate the fact that in the United States we can vote. However, I think that not everyone should be able to vote. It is an act that must be taken it seriously. In my opinion, adolescents just above 15 should not be able to vote. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

Young adults at age of 15 or 16 don't have fully understand how life works, nor have had much experience in their life. That is to say, at that age they haven't finished high-school, thus, it is unlikely that they have had experiences such as travelling abroad or debating with people with different point of views about politics and many others experiences that an older person would have in order to understand the importance of the voting process. For instance, when I was 15 years old all I cared about was joking around and not taking anything seriously. If at that time I had been able to vote, I would probable vote for an underdog candidate just for fun. I would not fully understand the process and I would probably try to convince my friends to do the same thing as me. I don't think I had the maturity enough to vote. However, at a later stage of my life when I was 18 years old, I felt that I was able to understand the process better and not thinking that the voting process was a joke.

Secondly, young adults should enjoy their lives first and not worry about politics at that age. What I mean by that is if adolescents fully understood the process, some of them would not want to keep their friends anymore because they might believe in something else. Adults already have that problem when they find out that someone that they care about is voting for somebody that they dislike. My personal experience is a compelling of this example, last year in my country we had presidential elections, and it was the most polarized process that I have ever seen. Some of my family members stopped talking with each other because of their different personal believes. My 15-year-old cousin did not understand why my mom was upset at his mom. Therefore, I think young adolescents should not have to face that unpleasant experience at that moment of their lives.

In conclusion, I think that young adults just above the age of 15 should not be able to vote. The voting process is an important act of a democracy and 15 years-old children do not have the experience enough to understand the voting process. They should enjoy their youth and not worry about fighting over politics.