Children over the age of 15 should be allowed to vote.

Voting is an important act of patriotism in a democracy. Not every country allows its citizens to participate in the election process; therefore, we should appreciate the fact that the United States allow us to. It is an act that must be taken seriously; thus, adolescents just above 15 should not be able to vote. I support this opinion for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

Young adults don't fully understand how life works, and have not had many life experiences. That is to say ,they haven't finished high school, thus, it is unlikely that they have had travelled abroad or debated with people with different point of views about politics. These are experiences that an older person would have that would enable them to understand the importance of the voting process. For instance, when I was 15 years old all I did was joking around and not taking anything seriously. If I had been able to vote, I would probably have voted for an underdog candidate just for kicks and giggles. Not fully understanding the process, I would probably have tried to convince my friends to do the same thing. I don't think I had sufficient maturity to vote. However, at a later stage of my life, I felt that I was able to better understand the process and select the most qualified candidate.

Secondly, young adults should enjoy their lives first and not worry about politics at that stage in their lives. If adolescents fully engaged in the process of creating a political position, some of them would not want to talk to their friends anymore because of their different beliefs. Adults already have that problem when they find out that someone that they care about is voting for somebody that they fundamentally disagree with. For example, last year in my country we had presidential elections, and it was the most polarizing process I have ever seen. Some of my family members stopped talking to each other because of their different political views and support of opposing candidates. My 15-year-old cousin did not understand why our mothers were feuding. Therefore, young adolescents should not have to face that unpleasant experience at that phase of their lives.

In conclusion, young adults just above the age of fifteen should not be able to vote. The voting process is an important act of a democracy and young children do not have enough experience to understand the voting process. They should enjoy their youth and not worry about fighting over politics.