Reading is more educational than watching television or movies.

There are many ways that we can obtain knowledge from, such as the usage of learning apps in our smartphones, studying using an online course or getting knowledge from experience. Some people argue that watching a film is an educational way to learn and more valuable than reading a book. Personally, I believe that reading is the best gadget to improve our skills. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

Reading gives you a chance to learn how the words are spelled. When you are reading a novel, you might encounter words that you think you may have never seen it before. However, the reality might be that you have heard the word before, knowing the meaning by its sound and not how it is written. My personal life is a compelling example of this. About a month ago, I was reading a book called Big Short, about the financial crisis of 2008 in the United States. During my reading, I faced a myriad of "new" words. Later, I searched those words in the dictionary and I found out that I have heard them before; however, I did not know how to write them. In the contrast, when I watched the movie about the book, I felt like that was not something possible to do, because I was just passively watching the film.

Secondly, reading is much more active than watching shows on a screen. That is to say, when you are watching something, you do not have to imagine how the scene looks like. It feels like that you can think about something else while watching the film. For instance, when I was watching the Big Short movie, I did not have to imagine the environment, nor how the actors looked like. It was all there for me through the beautiful film on the screen. Meanwhile, reading the book required my full attention. I had to imagine the scene, so I literally had to put my brain to work. I could not read without paying attention like in the movie. Moreover, I really needed to concentrate in the words and figure out how they sound in other to comprehensively understand the story.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that reading it is much more educational than just watching a show on your magic screen at home. This is because reading can teach you how to spell the words and is an active way to learn something new, requiring your full attention.