Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible. Other young adults prefer to live with their families for a longer time. Which of these situations do you think is better?

When we are young, we live with our parents until we reach the time that we must decide whether to follow our own path or stay at home. However, making that decision is tough, because you do not know if you will make it by your own. Young adults sometimes prefer to stay in their comfort zone and never face real life. They try to live as long as possible with their families. I cannot imagine myself doing that. I support the idea that we need to go out and explore the world as soon as we can; If you are not ready yet, this can be done by studying abroad. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

Experiencing independence for the first time gives you a tremendous feeling of freedom. This can be done by doing an exchange student program, for instance, when you are at high school and cannot leave your house yet. I had this opportunity when I was eighteen years old and I got to go to the USA. I was living on my own and I have never felt so good in my life. At my home in Brazil, I had always to tell my parents where I would go, what I would be doing at my friends etc. On the contrary, when I was by myself, I did not have to do any of that. I felt that I had the liberty to do anything that I wanted to.

Living on your own and being independence from your parents, gives you the chance to learn several new skills. Usually when we are at our houses living with our folks, they often do a myriad of things for us. My mom for example, she would do my laundry, make me supper, lunch and many other home shores. She would not let me do anything. Meanwhile, when I was living in the United States, I had to do everything that my mother would do it for me when I was in Brazil. I learned several new skills, cooking, doing laundry, cleaning, fixing the house, and learning how to kill unpleasant bugs. If I had never lived on my own, I would have never learned these skills.

Getting your independence from your parents is an important step that many of us should do it. If you do not have the resources yet to get out of your home, a studying abroad program can give you the taste of independence. Living on your own gives you the feeling of freedom and the opportunity to learn a myriad of new skills.