When schools do not have enough funding or teachers, some people think physical education classes should be cut, while others believe that courses in art and music should be eliminated first. Which do you think is preferable, and why?

Economic cycle is a common feature in a capitalist society. When countries struggle with their finances, they are forced to reduce their costs in order to control their balance of payments. Education is one of the most affected areas when the country has a tight budget. Therefore, school board members must decide which fields of education are their top priorities. Many people assume that physical education should be the first class to be cut down. Personally, I believe that arts and music should be the ones to have its funding reduced. I support this opinion for two mains reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

Being active is fundamental for our lives. General guidelines suggest that we should be in activity between 3 to 5 times a week. Having a physical education classes at school is important because it can help supply these guidelines. Sometimes parents are not aware of it or do not have the time to take their children to an extracurricular activity; so, their children may lack of physical activities. For example, when I was in middle-school I had soccer classes every day in my curriculum; thus, I was able to keep up with the physical activity guidelines. Soccer was a very enjoyable activity for me, and I was only able to practice at school since there was no fields near where I lived.

Secondly, art and music are easily reachable on your own. Many cities offer music concerts or have art museums. Even if you are not able to go to these places, there are a myriad of ways to access all sort of these contents, such as the usage of the internet, books, music tapes, and many others. Being an art aficionado, I have always learned the history of the art through books on my free time. Even without a class at my school, I was able be very knowledgeable at the topic. On the contrary, I would not be able to do the same with my soccer classes.

In conclusion, I think physical education classes should be always available at schools, even when there is a reduction in school funding. Keeping up with physical activity guidelines is very important, and frequently it is very challenging to do on your own as opposed to arts and music.