When schools do not have enough funding or teachers, some people think physical education classes should be cut, while others believe that courses in art and music should be eliminated first. Which do you think is preferable, and why?

In a capitalist society is common to have economic cycles. When times are rough, reducing funding for specific activities are necessary to control the countries balance sheet. Often, education is one of the areas most affected when a country has a tight budget. Therefore, school board members must decide in which areas will have a cut. While some people believe that physical education should be the first class to go down, I believe that arts and music should be eliminated first. I support this opinion for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

Being active is fundamental for our lives. General guidelines suggest that we should be in activity between 3 to 5 times a week. Having a physical education classes at school is important because it can help supply these guidelines that sometimes parents are not aware of it or do not have the time to take their children to an extracurricular activity. For example, when I was in middle-school I had physical education every day in my curriculum; thus, I was able to keep up with the physical activity guidelines. If I did not have the class at school, my mother would not be able to take me to a sport activity due her lack of time.

Secondly, art and music are easily reachable when you are out of school. Many cities offer music concerts or have art museums. Even if you are not able to go to these places, with the internet is possible to access all sort of music and art. For instance, my mother is an art aficionado, she is very knowledgeable about the history and the important names in this field. Therefore, when we would be driving to school, she would play in the car tapes of art history to educate me about this important activity. On the contrary, I would not be able to participate in a physical activity while my mother was driving. It is a class that requires you to go to a specific place and take your time to do it.

In conclusion, I think physical education classes should be always available at schools, even when there is a reduction in school funding. Keeping up with physical activity guidelines and having the classes available in schools are the reason why I believe in this way.