Children over the age of 15 should be allowed to vote.
Some people suggest that affording children over fifteen the right to vote would lead to a
better society. After all, the more voices are heard in a democracy, the more legitimacy
elected leaders have. Be that as it may, I believe that society would actually be worse off if
fifteen-year-old were allowed to vote. Teenagers are too immature to vote, and often simply
copy the preferences of their parents.
First and foremost,fifteen, is simply put, not very old. Children at that age lack the emotional
maturity needed to make intelligent decisions when voting. They often feel passionately about
a topic one day only to have their interest fizzle out the next; clearly, that causes problems
when the decisions made affect people throughout society. Moreover, fifteen-year-old lack
the sophistication needed to distinguish between truly valuable causes and those that are 10
merely exciting. Politicians would simply speak to the emotions of the younger voters during
speeches, and teenagers might vote for frivolous policies, such as longer school vacations.
However,voting should not be taken so lightly—no choice, arguably, could be of more
importance.
I also believe it would be a mistake to allow fifteen-year-old to vote because they are likely to
simply copy the preferences of their parents. For example, during elections, voters are often
influenced by economic factors, such as promises to provide tax breaks, the expansion of
social aid programs. But fifteen-year-old are not economically independent. Their financial
situations depend on those of their parents. For this reason,their parents would influence
them to vote to most help the family financially, which is not honest democracy. To make
matters worse, politicians would realize that families usually vote in the same way, and start
emphasizing policies helping families at the expense of other interest groups in order to get
their votes. For instance, politicians might promise to raise money for schools by taxing
businesses. This would effectively give parents a disproportionately large influence.