children over fifteen the right to vote

Some people suggest that affording children over fifteen the right to vote would lead to a

better society. After all, the more voices are heard in a democracy, the more legitimacy

elected leaders have. Be that as it may, I believe that society would actually be worse off if

fifteen-year-olds were allowed to vote. Teenagers are too immature to vote, and often simply

copy the preferences of their parents.

First and foremost, fifteen, is simply put, not very old. Children at that age lack the emotional

maturity needed to make intelligent decisions when voting. They often feel passionately about

a topic one day only to have their interest fizzle out the next; clearly , that causes problems

when the decisions made affect people throughout society. Moreover, fifteen-year-olds lack

the sophistication needed to distinguish between truly valuable causes and those that are merely exciting. Politicians would simply speak to the emotions of the younger voters during speeches, and teenagers might vote for frivolous policies, such as longer school vacations.

However, voting should not be taken so lightly—no choice, arguably, could be of more importance.

I also believe it would be a mistake to allow fifteen-year-olds to vote because they are likely to

simply copy the preferences of their parents. For example, during elections, voters are often

influenced by economic factors, such as promises to provide tax breaks, the expansion of

social aid programs. But fifteen-year-olds are not economically independent. Their financial

situations depend on those of their parents. For this reason, their parents would influence

them to vote to most help the family financially, which is not honest democracy. To make

matters worse, politicians would realize that families usually vote in the same way, and start

emphasizing policies helping families at the expense of other interest groups in order to get

their votes. For instance, politicians might promise to raise money for schools by taxing

businesses. This would effectively give parents a disproportionately large influence.

Essentially, there is a good reason that virtually no country on the planet allows people who

are so young to vote. They have yet to mature into responsible tax-paying citizens. As

mentioned, their interests are fickle, and not aligned with what is best for society as a whole. It

would be a mistake to give them influence in the democratic process.