Children should be prohibited from playing video games

Due to the benefits associated with video games, some believe that parents should allow children to play video games without any restriction. However, I disagree with allowing children to play video games freely. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will examine in the essay.

First, Addiction to video games causes the grades of the children to drop drastically. Video games are very addictive in nature, children, who don’t know their priorities tend to get addicted to them. Consequently, children play the games for long periods of time disregarding their studies. As a result, their academic performance will become poor. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When I was in the 9th grade of high school, I was addicted to a video game called PUBG. I used to play the game very often whenever I get free time, and I didn’t take my studies seriously. As a result, my grades were very poor in the final examination, and I barely passed with minimum marks in the math subject. In addition, I also damaged my eyesight, so I must wear spectacles all the time. I am sure that if I had not played the game too much, I would have been able to get good grades in my final examinations.

Second, Children would often get into fights with others and can have serious injuries. Video games showcase a lot of violence, and violence often attracts children, so they get into fights with other children in their class or neighborhood frequently. Eventually, this leads to extreme and severe situations that could get out of hand and can cost lives. For example, my classmate, in Highschool, played a lot of video games that showcases extreme violence. Initially, he was very kind and gentle to fellow classmates, but he got influenced by the violence and started getting into fights with others, as it seems to be cool to him now. He would often incite violence inside the classroom and ends up hurting others badly. Once, the situation went out of control, he got into a fight with junior and made his nose bleed severely. As a result, the junior had to go through a minor surgery for his nose and had stitches on his face. Consequently, my classmate had to change school and his parents got a severe warning from the town’s executive sheriff. If video games don’t show such violent acts, severe incidents like this would happen very seldom.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion of banning video games for children. This is because video games degrade the child’s academic performance and encourage him or her into fights with their peers, often leading to disgraceful events.