Children should be prohibited from playing video games

Most people argue that children should not be banned to play video games because they are educative and relieves stress for children. However, I disagree with this position and argue that children must be banned to play video games due to two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First, Video games are very addictive in nature, children, who don’t know their priorities tend to get addicted to them. As a result, children play the games for long periods of time, which causes damage to their eyes and decrement their performance in studies. My own experience is a compelling example of this. For example, When I was in my sophomore year, I was addicted to a video game called PUBG. I used to play the game whenever I get free time. I didn’t take my studies seriously that year. As a result, my grades were very poor in the final examination, and I barely passed with minimum marks in mathematics subject. In addition, I also damaged my eyesight, so I must wear spectacles all the time. Had I not been addicted to the video game; I would have performed well in my examinations and would have had a good sight.

Second, Video games contain a lot of violence and drug usage. Children often get encouraged by viewing them to incite violence and to use substances. For example, my classmate, in Highschool, played a lot of video games that has a lot of violence in them, he got attracted to it and would often fight with the other students and end up hurting them badly. Once, the situation went out of hand, he got into a fight with junior. He ended up injuring him very severely for which the junior got admitted to the hospital and had minor surgery. Consequently, my classmate had to change school and his parents got a severe warning from the police. This would not have happened if he was not encouraged into violence.

In conclusion, while I do recognize the advantages of allowing children to play video games, the disadvantages outweigh the advantages in my opinion. Therefore, I believe that children should be banned from playing video games.