Children should be required to help with household tasks as soon as they are able.

We are born into complex and demanding world, so it is necessary to be prepared for the responsibilities and obligations of life from childhood to adulthood. From my perspective, one way to prepare children for future is to assign household tasks to them. I will elaborate on the reasons which my view is based on in the following essay.

First of all, children need to learn about responsibilities. By including children in household chores, not only do parents acknowledge the children’s abilities, but also they teach them about discipline and importance of responsibilities. For example, when I was little, I had to make breakfast for the entire family; so I got used to getting up early in the morning even at weekends. Doing such routine tasks as a child made me a more independent and self-confident person.

Secondly, household tasks help children develop their social skills. For instance, when a child sets table for a dinner party he/she learns about how to create a pleasing dining environment as well as how to entertain the guests. Such experiences are considered an important part in socialization process in which social and cultural norms are passed on to future generation.

In conclusion, participating in household duties is of great benefit for children. I strongly believe that by assigning household tasks to children, we can raise them to be more responsible and well-behaved.