In a city it is necessary to close the central areas to private transport.

It is a frequent matter of debate in urban planning whether it is better to close central areas of a city to private transport. Some argue that public transport should be the only means of commuting because it brings advantages such as reducing pollution. In contrast, others claim that private transport is a fundamental pilar in how the city operates and should it be removed the city will not prosper. Although both side of the argument have benefits and drawbacks, I favor blocking private vehicles from circuiting central areas for these reasons.

To start with, I believe that closing the private traffic improves health conditions in the city. Cutting down on private vehicles means less pollution and noise generated. Similarly, this allows for a better use of the city's space, which improves the quality of life of dwellers by allowing parks and bicycle lanes to be built. Drawing from my own experience. In Bogota, the capital city of Colombia, there used to be a problem with traffic jams and respiratories diseases due to pollution. After many collapses of the medical system, it was not until authorities reduced the number of private vehicles in the street and increases the capacity of public transport that citizens noticed a recovery of health and increased happiness. This shows me that the reduction of vehicles owned by third-parties in the central areas of a city can be a huge step-forward in the quality of life of the whole city. As a result, I think that removing these vehicles entirely can bring even more benefits to a city.

A reduction in vehicles, in addition to being better for the public health is better for the environment. It is often argue that the necessary increase in public transport means building more infrastructure that will come with a high cost of natural resources and reserved land. However, this could not be further from the truth. Changing private vehicles with a high efficient public transport system is better in the long run because this allows for a energy-efficient and compact way of moving people, specially in high-volume routes. For example, many developed cities around the world own a metro lane connecting business centers, airports, parks and more. All while consuming less space. This is another reason why I believe that private vehicles should not be allow in center areas of a city.

To conclude, it is my belief that limiting private vehicles in central areas is a better option than relaying on civilian vehicles. Despites the benefits that private vehicles have for their owners, the drawbacks for the city as a whole are much more problematic in every aspect. For me, it is clear that private vehicles should be banned from cities, specially in center areas.