Imagine you have one week to spend on a vacation in a city you've never been to before. Would you prefer to spend the week participating in scheduled activities such as going on guided tours of the city, or would you prefer to spend the week exploring the city on your own, with no scheduled activities?

If people have one week to spend on a vacation in a city that they have never been to, some people prefer to take part in scheduled activities, while others prefer to spend the week exploring the city on their own without any scheduled activities. For me, I prefer to hand around the city and explore it by myself. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, whenever I visit a new city, I want to learn their language and sharpen by communication skills. And apparently, spending the whole week discovering the city alone can help me achieve the goal. For instance, I once went to Tokyo, Japan by myself two years ago. Since I did not arrange my schedule ahead, I encountered numerous kinds of situations, including getting lost in the city, forgetting to bring my wallet, etc., and such environment helped me learn several useful Japanese phrases. As a result, my Japanese skills got improved through interacting with Tokyo citizens. On the other hand, if I took a trip to Tokyo through a guide tour, the guide might did all the translations for me. Evidently, having a fixed schedume prevents me from bumping into practical situations that help me enhance my communication skills.

In addition, I enjoy relishing exotic food and drink when I visit a new city, and spending the week exploring the city on my own can help me enjoy local food. As an example, I once went to Mexico City for my first time, and I spent the whole week searching for delicious restaurants in the town without any schedule. I figured out that differnt part of Mexico City had different food. For instance, the Chinese section of Mexico city had taco with Kongbao chicken wrapped in it. As a result, I had many opportunities to bump into unimaginable food and appreciate cross-cultural delicacies there. Nevertheless, if I went to Mexico City with my parents, then they might disallow me from enjoying Mexican food because they tend to unconsciously think that spicy food is unhealthy. Apparently, fitting myself into my parents' conservative schedules would not let me enjoy exotic food in a new city.

To conclude, I maintain that spending the whole week discovering the city on my own without any scheduled activities is better due to the aforementioned reasons.