Classroom education is more helpful in life than lessons learned at home. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Use specific examples and reasons for your answer.

Learning is a life-long process. We never stop learning, even when we are old. And the sources of learning are endless – we do not just learn from books or experts. We can also learn from experiences, our own experiments, and others. Some people believe that children learn in school is more useful than they learn at the house. However, I strongly believe that the lesson which we learn at home are more useful. Children learn basics and important lessons at home such as discipline, respect, and self-confidence.

First, respect is a basic gesture which everyone uses in life. If there is basic human respect, so many other good character traits follow suit. Respect for authority also shows obedience. Respect for others covers kindness. Respect for oneself shows self-control and self-worth. Things like teasing and bullying happen in the absence of respect. Backtalk, disobedience, laziness, same thing, they just don't exist where respect is found. For example, my niece, Diya is a very nice kid. Diya’s teacher says that she is very obedient in class. This credit goes to my sister, she always teaches her lesson on respect others and what is the importance of it.

Second, at home parents can teach children that failure does not mean that you are not good that subject. Failure means you are being directed into another step towards success. Life is always a struggle, and one has to stumble in life for simple reasons that we have to face many hurdles. Failures could disappoint and discourage us however, the right approach to failure doesn't have to dishearten. Instead, we should learn lessons from those failures. For example, my niece, Diya failed in the dancing competition that time she was so discouraged. AT that time my sister asked her favorite board game with her. Diya played that game and she also won that game. My sister explained to her that when you participate in such competition then only one wins, and others lose. That does not mean that they are bad in those skills, but they have to improve their skill to make it better.

Lastly, discipline is a lifelong skill that helps children to become successful from academics, to jobs and to families of their own. Without discipline, accomplishment could be hard to achieve, while with discipline we can achieve security and success. For example, I grew up well-disciplined by my Dad. My dad used to spoil us with treats once in a while too, but he was really more of a strict disciplinarian. I'd like to believe that his military training has something to do with how firm he was with "the law of the household" and he and my Mom would set a consistent routine that reinforces self-discipline. I used to wake up on time and also help my mom for house chores. It helped in the future when I was away from my house for graduate study.

In conclusion, based on my experiences, I strongly believe that lesson learn at home are more useful for life that which we learn from books at school. At home, children learn discipline, respect, and self-confidence.