Directions: Read the question below. You have 30 minutes to plan, write, and revise your essay. Typically, an effective response contains a minimum of 300 words.

Question:

Some people think that human needs for farmland, housing, and industry are more important than saving land for endangered animals. Do you agree or disagree with this point of view? Why or why not? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

They say a person never realises the effects of any issue until he himself suffers in the same. Humankind has already caused a huge amount of harm to the animals. Every alternate day we get to listen to the news of some species of the other being endangered or some animal appearing out of nowhere into the streets of a city. Not all humans show empathy towards animals. I take a conditional stand on the same.

Every living thing on this earth needs food and shelter to live. We humans in the advent of new technologies and advancements overlook the fact that even animals need shelter. Deforestation has led to a huge problem for wild animals to find shelter and food. Their habitat is at stake due to the irrespond=sible behaviour of mankind.

Additionally, tons of untreated industrial wastes are thrown in the oceans due to which a humongous amount of water bodies succumb to death. The poisonous metals like mercury mix with water and enter animal bodies. Unfortunately, they have an adverse effect on their health. We see a huge amount of plastic in the oceans which are unknowingly consumed by whales and other water animals. The recent oil spill near Russia shows the sheer carelessness of humans towards this environment of ours.

However, factory smokes are not an exception. They have exponentially depleted the chances of the birds to migrate from far lands during specific seasons. The smog is hazardous for their health and thus most of the migrant birds are endangered today. While Save tiger missions are helping revive the endangered species of tiger, it is necessary that the people stop poaching and encroaching animals for their tusks, flesh, antlers, feathers and more. We the humans can restrict ourselves from buying such items that harm animals too in a way stop this deadly loop.

Undeniably, we cannot starve ourselves for our needs but we can surely look for efficient ways to treat this issue. A wiser approach to meet our requirements and not one's greed. Endangered animals should be fostered with care and given luscious green shelters to save the species. It is high time we start caring for every animal instead of being alarmed at the extent when they are getting endangered. Every living being must have equal rights.