Directions: Read the question below. You have 30 minutes to plan, write, and revise your essay. Typically, an effective response will contain a minimum of 300 words.

Question:

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

During the period between early 50’s to nearly the end of 70’s in China, the generations of young people who grew up with planned economy were hardly able to tell what is “Making own decisions”. “Most of us did not have the change to go to the further education after high school,” Yu shi, a witness of that era and a teacher in a university now, says, “We were assigned to a certain job base on the census register, and got marriage in early twenties by parents’ will.” This situation continued until early 80’s when the country had abandoned the old economy mechanism, and set up a new economic system – the market economy. The new-born generations, since then, had begun to deviate the conventional route of their own life. The causes are on the three counts: parents are more open-mind to their children, the improvements of their material life offered them the opportunities to risk, and the increase of knowledge and information expended their horizon and provided them more options.

To begin with, the parents, who were born and raised in a conventional society lacking of messages, usually lived in a limited social circle. There is a number of them did not realize that they could have another better choice until they had come into a middle age. A research indicates that at least 70 percent of them had regretful feelings about their decisions before. On account of that, they have the potential willing to avoid the dilemma snagging their children again, and would show more understanding when their children have their own plans.

Second, better financial conditions give young people less family burdens than their predecessors. In the past, young people always shouldered huge family responsibility, especially in China, when education source is limited, and the only kid who obtained education in formal schools or universities have to make livings for the whole family, which usually contained more than three people. In this case, the overwhelmed family burden gives young adults few choices to focus on what they desire to do, and they have to listen to their parents’ suggestion and follow what they were told to do.

Furthermore, nobody could overlook the fact that in the past, the level of public information in the societies was low; consequently, children were wrestling with lack of data. It goes without saying that since there were not universities enough or people could rarely travel; hence, obtaining experience was a complex procedure. The young were relying on their parents' experiences. Now it is believed that internet is ruling in all over the world. Everything you need from basic information about cooking an egg to the most complex scientific or social data are available on the internet. Such a great situation will assist the youths to gain their needed factors for making new decisions. Even more, human beings can connect with each other in every point of this modern world and share their opinions and experiences with each other.

By and large, young people can make more decisions about themselves today than a few decades ago. This is the favorable trend for the development of the whole society that benefit both parents and their children.