Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Never have people the lack of celebrities around, which they are about pop stars, sports stars, performing stars, successful businesspeople, leading politicians and so forth. In such a connected world, celebrities may have immense amounts of potential to influence the human society, for they are exposed every day through advertisements, on television, on radio, and the internet; they are almost everywhere. Adults having full-developed mentality and intellect may have less possibility to emulate their behaviors for yet they have their own life value, critical thinking, and their own judgments. Whereas, when it comes to youth, the situation becomes a little out of control. The reasons may refer to: young people are more likely to be attracted by celebrities for their sensory acuity; and they have the trend to imitate celebrities actions, behaviors, and influenced by their words because of young people’s innocent and callow nature; and finally, young people do not have sufficient experience and horizon to judge whether his or her behaviors are proper. On account of those three reasons, it is truly important for people who already have fame to be cautious of their options.

Researches in some academic papers show that juveniles are more easily to be attracted by new or uncommon objects which they never met before, and that might contribute to the study mechanism which is in that age, brains are more likely to be stimulated by the outside source which they do not familiar with. Electronic cerebral scans depict that the frequency of brain activities goes up when researchers show the young volunteers a clip of bizarre pets’ video or novel images including magazine covers with fashion celebrities; besides, the ratio is sound and more vibrant than it between adults. In this circumstance, with pieces of information associated with celebrities disseminated all around the place, children and adolescents have a more significant chance to pay attention to.

Emulating is a part of the study process too. What’s more, it helps young people forming the self-consciousness mentally by a couple of ways in which one of them is, comparison. Along with the influence by the environments they live, criticized or praised by their parents, peers or others, young people are starting to configure their own primary judgments such as good/bad, like/dislike, beauty and ugliness, etc. Consciously or unconsciously, they put themselves in a position to compare with celebrities who they are interested in, and then react with their own regularities. For instance, a girl might be fascinated by Lady Gaga for her bizarre, scantily clad costumes and bold makeup; the distinctiveness, this girl might think of, is so cool. In that case, she is starting to compare her dressing with Lady Gage's, then trying to dress more like her; those behaviors must be improper in her age from an adult’s view, but it is so natural and reasonable from a child perspective; they just want to be the same.

What they dress, what they use, what they eat, all of those are subconsciously conveyed by advertisements acted by celebrities and have influenced young people’s daily choices. Without relative knowledge, a child may be vulnerable to pick up an unhealthy diet for he or she might have seen too many candy advertisements, which could lead to a sugar obsession, or have seen too many magazines with too many images of an unrealistic thin ideal, which could link to anorexia. That is, young people do not have the completed experience and awareness of the consequences from the behaviors which they picked up, and when they or their parents realized, sometimes it is little too late. News are covered now and then with girls who die from malnutrition just for looking skinny like the idols.

Despite the negative effects, some celebrities influence the right discussion for the better. The singer Lorde called out a photoshopped image of herself on Twitter. She noted that one photo showed here with Perfect skin while the other was real. "Remember, flaws are ok." she tweeted. Good or bad, better or worse, no matter what the celebrities do, it needs to be grounded in how they inflict on our young culture, with meticulous and punctilious reactions. Furthermore, there is an equivalent significance it is all just a matter of who and what we focus on, for all of us, including adults.