Do agree or disagree? when teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects.

It’s a highly debated issue whether or not students learn much more when they work in groups or simply they learn the same as if they worked alone on a projects. This topic can be approached from many angles due to its complexity. Deeply deliberating over this issue, I assert that students do learn a lot more effectively when they work on groups, and following discussion reveals my stand and reasoning.

First and foremost, many studies shows that projects assigned to group of students usually obtain the highest grades when compared to project done by students how worked alone. The studies tend to believe that those projects have been performed perfectly and precisely because groups tend to have different students with different learning style as well as different points of view, combining those ability together to solve a problem will result with a much better outcome than when a student trying alone to solve the same problem. If students working on project were to face many obstacles, they would work together to find the perfect solution. On the other hand when a student who work alone was to face as many difficulties, he will be overwhelm and eventually give up. Although some people might argue that assigning project to each student will not develop problem solving sense for the student, I still think that it is of such importance to work together to solve the problem than to face those difficulties alone.

Working together as a team create a better result as well as better relationships between the students. In addition, students who work in groups will learn beyond the project that have been assigned to them. They will learn how to tackle hard problems, how to divide responsibilities, how to give and receive praise on performance. Those are a highly required characteristics, which will benefit the students in their future carrier as well. On a personal scale I remember when I was at college the professor assign a project for every five students to work together. It was such an experiment that well all still remember. We were faced with a lot of difficulties but we tackle them down because each student used his point of strength and combining all those was such a success. If we were to perform the same project alone, we definitely would not be able to break it down. Even though some people still think that when a group of students work together it might be unfair to share the same score, since not everyone did the same job, I still believe that the benefit of working in groups is far more important than the overall score.

In a nut shell, both working alone and in groups has its own cons and pros. personally I think working in groups the advantages usually overweight the disadvantages. Students learn a higher grades when they work in groups, as well as they learn very important social characteristics.