Before an important exam, do you think it is better to prepare for a long time or only for a few days? Give examples and reasons to support your argument.

It is a highly debated issue whether or not, to start preparing for an important test a head of time or to wait till the last moment. This topic could be approached from many angles due to its complexity. Deeply deliberating over this issue I believe it’s better to prepare for a long time rather than to wait till few days before the test due date.

It’s been said better safe than sorry, to have enough time before an important test gives the test taker the advantage of controlling the whole preparation period. Gathering the information resources and having all the material ready is an important step to begin with, because urgent unexpected things could happen all the time. If the student was to face an urgent emergency at the very last moment, it would affect his test preparation. It happened with me when I waited till the last moment in my final chemistry test at high school, I thought I have everything under control when suddenly my young sister spelled a bucket of water on my copybook that was the main source of test information, all the copybook was whipped out. It was such a crisis. Although some might argue that a long preparation time could lead the student to forget what he\she studied at the beginning, I truly think long preparation time is much better than rushing out and skipping materials to finish before test due date. Being able to plan a long preparation time for an important exam is a privilege for a good student.

Long preparation time also serve as a calming effect, student could manage how to control stress over a long preparation time. When a student is able to go through the whole material, highlight the key points, making flash cards to review later student will be much more self-confident to pass the test. If a student was to rush everything he would second guess his ability to pass. On a personal scale I will never forget when I was attending a lecture and the professor suddenly asked if everyone is fully prepare for the test and everyone answered yes. What happen is that the professor change the test date by putting a note on the college notepad. Even though I was really good at this class I did not pass, because I did not have enough time to gather my confident and strength. Self-confident goes hand by hand with enough preparation time, ultimately both self -confident and good preparation will lead the student to success.

In a nut shell, no one could be safe from different emergencies that could happen any moment, being prepare is better that to have the emergency as an excuse. Also, long preparation will boost the student spirit and lead to high grades.