Do you agree of disagree with following statement Playing computer games is a waste of time Children should not be allowed to play them Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Computer games are undeniably a crucial thing in human life these days. A controversial argument that is often raised regarding this topic is whether to allow children to play them or not. If I were obliged to choose, I would think that children should not be allowed to play computer games for several reasons, on a few of which I will elaborate subsequently.

To begin with, I believe that computer games are addictive. Hardly can anyone deny the fact that computer games are designed to be addictive. Being addict to something is very bad. It makes you spend time on it more than you should. I believe my opinion is partially influenced by my personal experience. You see, I remember when I was younger and a new game was released and I started to play that, before I know I got addicted to it and I couldn't leave it until I finished it.

Secondly, when we play computer games, we don't feel time passing. It's what computer games were made for, they were designed to pass our time. The more we play, the more we engage. For instance, I know someone who plays computer games a lot. One time he said to me that when he's playing games, he gets so deep in-game and it's like he's in another world and he doesn't notice time passing or anything else. There were times that he misses his classes due to his concentration on playing computer games.

Finally, most of the games were designed for users to have fun. They don't teach anything to players. I think children can spend their time learning stuff and gain knowledge instead of playing games for nothing. For example, I know a student who spends most of his time playing games, not surprisingly, his grades are awful and he's not doing well at school.

I resist the temptation to explain more, hoping there is enough information already. To sum it up, as the reasons suggest, children should not be allowed to play computer games. Because not only they're addicting, but also they waste time and teach nothing to children. So I think we should not let children play computer games.