Do you agree/disagree with the following statement?

A teacher’s ability to relate well with students is more important than excellent knowledge of the subject being taught. Use specific examples and reasons to support your answer.

At the turn of the new century, with the development of human’s modern society and galloping rate of science and technology, Education sector is adapting more and more complexity. Some people are of the opinion that teacher’s compatibility with students is more important rather than excellent content knowledge. I personally believe that content mastery should be the apogee trait of an education professional. I hold this belief for certain reasons which I will explore in subsequent paragraphs.

Firstly, through content knowledge helps teacher to efficiently manage classroom. Most classrooms have heterogeneous group which is impossible to control if teacher is not effective. An educator needs to have in depth subject knowledge; so that she can easily get through the regular classroom lectures as well as question answer sessions. For instance, when I was in high school, my mathematics teacher was so efficient with her subject that students get so engrossed in her lecture that there was a pin drop silence in classroom. So, content knowledge is of utmost importance.

Secondly, well versed faculty can infuse passion in students for a particular subject by her in depth content knowledge. Teachers play vital roles in students’ lives especially during career selection. Each child is born with some skills and talents. Some students want to be scientist by studying science while others prefer to study commerce and do business in future. It is the duty of educators to provide students with such facilities and experiences so that they can explore their traits. For instance, my younger brother had aversions for mathematics subject since childhood but when he entered secondary level in high school, his perception changed and he started taking interest in mathematics. This change of mind was possible because of his mathematics teacher who takes keen interest in students and uses simpler methods of instruction.

Lastly, a well qualified teacher can improve the overall result of the class. Unlike other professions, teaching is not a cup of everyone’s tea. To bring out best from the students takes lot of energy, dedication and enthusiasm. Well trained teacher with expert knowledge of the subject help students with their doubts, questions, revision and career counseling. This will lead to improvement in their grades.

In the nutshell, compatibility comes naturally when students are provided with new knowledge, innovative learning techniques. So, prime focus should be on content knowledge of an instructor.