People attend college or university for many different reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation and increased knowledge). Why do you think people attend college or university? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

At the turn of the new century, with the development of human’s modern society and galloping rate of science and technology, more and more students prefer university level education for variety of reasons. Higher education plays vital role in our lives for molding our careers. I personally believe that people prefer pursuing higher education basically for achieving excellence in career, building new relations and for upgrading their skills. I hold this opinion for certain reasons which I will explore in subsequent paragraphs.

The first aspect to point out is that what provokes people to think that university education is directly correlated to career enhancement is challenging job descriptions. With the advent of technology, jobs have become more complex and challenging. A person needs to be multi talented to grab brilliant job opportunity with high pay scale and benefits. For instance, for the post of assistant manager, a person with master’s degree in business administration would be better preferred as compared to other person with only bachelor’s degree or high school degree. Thus, higher level education moves a person a step ahead of others.

Second subtle point is that a university level education provides exposure to new environment and new people. Students get to know their professors, class mates and other members in the university campus. In today’s world contacts are very important to succeed in life. Benevolent and enthusiastic behavior of students can help them to build concrete long term relations which will be fruitful to them in future. For example, When I was in university pursuing master’s of commerce, I had build such a strong connections with my teachers and professors that helped me with the reference part needed when I applied to foreign university. So, higher education is pivotal for building connections.

Lastly, Studying in university assist in skill up gradation. No one has zero intelligence, individuals are born with inbuilt creativity and it is the duty of educational institutions to exploit such creativity and hidden talents. Programs such as inter university debate competitions, music concerts, Business fairs etc can help students explore their inbuilt talents and skills. For instance, if a student who is excellent pianist but out of shyness is unable to perform on stage , then such programs will provide him opportunity and motivate him to perform.

In the nutshell, People attend university or college to excel their career path , build strong relations and explore their inner traits which act as bolster to succeed in this contemporary world.