Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the turn of new century, with the advent of mordernisation and galloping scientific advances, society has undergone a profound change. Family structure has changed a lot. Nowadays, people prefer unit families instead of extended ones with long list of relatives. Some people are of the opinion that extended family are more important than living in single family included children and parents.Others might hold some different viewpoint. I, personally believe that extended families are equally important today as it was in past. I, hold this opinion for certain reasons which I will explain in subsequent paragraphs.

First point to focus upon is that what provokes people to live in extended families is love, care , compassion, respect, co-operation, acceptance. These are the values we learn from our extended family members. Our family stands by our side without referring to the situation. To expelling more, I personally live in an extended family. We happily help each other on all fronts such as ladies help in kitchen, handling household chores, taking care of children. Male members look after business dealings, planning vacations, budgeting. Division of labor is the biggest advantage of staying in extended family.

Second subtle point is that being in extended family leads to no worries. Because, parents, grandparents and other relatives are always there to share your accomplishments, fears and rejections. They provide us with best counselling. Many researches have proved that children staying in extended families with grandparents are more gregarious, elite and sophisticated as compared to single families where parents lack time to listen to their children.

Lastly, staying in extended families provides with exposure to people with lot many experiences of long years. For instance, my grandmother used to teach me how to cook different dishes, in which she was an expert. We can help younger cousins in studies as well. Each and every family member can add to our experiences and help us to ride ladder of success.

In conclusion, Extended families provides with sense of secureness and protection. Also, fun being around different generation of same family. So, these hold important part in our lives.