Do you agree or disagree computer games is waste of time and children should not be allowed to play

Game perception has changed with the advent of the technology. Virtual games, which provide gamers with various opportunities to enjoy unreal experiences, today, are one of the most enjoyable inside activities played by most people from young to old. Since computer games present a different kind of virtual experiences, people tend to spend hours in front of the computer. Those who are most interested in playing these games are children. Some people consider playing those games as a waste of time for children whereas others strongly support the idea that computer games have different benefits for them. I, however, am of the opinion that computer games make many contributions to young brains.

To begin with, as we all know, children need to enjoy more than adults. They want to experience everything they see but, their parents may not be able to afford to provide them with many opportunities because of the high expenses of those activities. According to me, the best way in order to satisfy them is computer games. For example, they can fly with warplanes or become a Special Forces soldier fighting with enemies thanks to those games. What I am saying is that they already spend many times by doing useless activities so; since they may gratify themselves by them, they should not be considered a waste of time.

In addition, computer games help children to improve their foreign language skills, especially English. In order to chat with other players on the online games, they should have an average command of written English. Moreover, the language of the most computer games is in English and playing them improves children's foreign language skills. For example, I was fond of race games such as Need for Speed or Forza and playing these games provided me to get used the terms of the automobile in English. By this way, I can easily read the automobile magazines in English.

Last but not least, it improves children's brain-body coordination. Studies show that engaging in activities requiring the use of body and brain, some computer games are really useful for children. What is more, some educationalists suggest playing strategy and simulation games to improve analytic thinking. Take me as an example. When I was a child, I would play Sim City, in which I had to manage the whole city and follow every situation. This provided me to think versatile and concentrate on more things at the same time.

To put it in a nutshell, I strongly believe that the advantages of the computer games overweigh their disadvantages and are not a waste of time. They help children to derive more pleasure from life, to learn a foreign language in an easy and enjoyable way, and develop their analytic thinking.