People work because they need money to live. What are some other reasons that people work? Discuss one or more of these reasons. Use specific examples and details to support your answer.

Earning money for survival is one of the most important reasons why people work, but it is certainly not the sole one. Ideas like that are only claimed by narrow-minded people who do not have any expectation from life other earning enough to survive. I believe that people need to work to realize their dreams, hobbies or also to socialize. In this essay, I am going to present some of such reasons for people working.

To begin with, a lot of people should spend their money not only on meeting their primary needs but also on enjoyable activities or rather on their hobbies. Life does not only consist of eating, sleeping and working, but also of enjoying it to the fullest. People who earn more money than they need should not just save it, but also spend it on their hobbies. This way, life becomes more tasteful. For example, last year, I decided to spend a little amount of the money I saved while working and went scuba diving, which I had in mind for a long time. Doing so, I realized that how important working was since you can earn money to pursue your hobbies.

Moreover, hobbies are sometimes not enough to make you happy. Sometimes you need somebody to talk to, somebody to drink a cup of coffee with and talk about the latest gossips. So, the workplace provides you with an opportunity to meet new people and make new friends. Besides earning money, you also socialize. Take me as an example. I was dismissed from my job and had been unemployed for a year staying at home and having less contact with people. I can easily say that I did not only want a job to earn money, but to also in contact with people, in other words, to socialize.

Last but not least, although the reasons I mentioned above are important, there are people who consider something more important than those, which is “prestige”. Such people decide to work for the prestige the job offers them. My experience is a compelling example of this. I had always wanted to be an outstanding person in society and decided to work as a soldier, which is a highly prestigious occupation. This way, I would believe in myself and feel more confident.

All in all, some people may consider working as something obligatory to earn money for a living. I, however, hold the opposite idea and think that working provides people with different advantages like realizing their hobbies, socializing with other people or gaining prestige.