It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts

There is no shortage of debate about whether it is important for students to understand ideas and concepts than to learn facts. I believe that understanding ideas and concepts is much more important. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I am going to explain in the following essay.

First of all, understanding concepts and ideas help students to become more creative and to think versatile. This also stimulates their drives to inquire about what they learn. As they ask questions about events and phenomenon, they will reach real facts. By this way, they will be able to bring forward new ideas or produce something new. I want to compare two students from an Indian movie called "3 Idiots" to illustrate this concept. In the movie, Rancho is such a student who always searches for ideas and concepts that he even argues with professors about this. As for Chatur who commits everything to memory, he always listens to the lectures unquestioningly because his only purpose is to get a high mark on the exams. In the end, Chatur becomes a good engineer whereas Rancho becomes an entrepreneur and invents different machines. What I am saying is that if students are educated with investigative spirit, they will become more creative.

Secondly, it helps communities to secure the justice and to keep the peace because it encourages people to investigate facts. Therefore, it prevents them from having blind confidence in everything and promote them to analyze events. The condition of my own country is a compelling example of this concept. Today, mass media has a great influence on the public in the whole world and in my country, the government monopolized most of the tv channels so as to manipulate the public. They gave promises and talked about great projects, which will never be realized, before each election and covered their inexpertness by perception management. However, my people suppose that everything is perfect because media tells like that. In case that some opponents tried to explain the conditions, they were either jailed or declared as a traitor or both of them. Today, my country is full of injustice and I believe that this is because of believing everything unquestioningly.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that understanding ideas and concepts is more important than learning facts. This is because people become more creative on everything and because it can help nations to live in peace.