Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Grades (marks) encourage students to learn. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

The topic that grades are important factors to encourage students to learn more has been questionable for decades. Most people, even educators, agree with this statement but in my opinion, they pose an obstacle for students to learn effectively. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I am going to explain in the following essay.

First of all, grades do not promote students to study and to learn more. In the grading-based education system, the sole aim of students is getting a high score on exams. So, their efforts for learning are temporary because they cannot find something inspiring to motivate themselves to learn for learning. My university life is a compelling example of this. I started at the university with enthusiasm but when I learned that our pass mark limit increased from 50 to 65 out of 100 in order to make students more interested in the classes, I felt nervous. So, we studied intensively to get a score above 65 but we forgot all the information right after exams since the only thing to attract students attention was increasing the pass mark. When we graduated from the university, we had learned nothing. To my way of thinking, educators should discover new ways or motives in order to encourage students to be interested in subjects.

Secondly, I believe that grades are demotivational factors for students when they plan for their future career. Some students may get low scores even if their knowledge is very high on subjects. When they get a low score on exams, they lose their self-confidence and feel high pressure on them to get better grades. This leads them to stop studying those subjects and to show an interest in others, which are easier. My own experience demonstrates this. When I was at primary school, my math and physics scores were such amazing that my teachers wanted me to skip to higher grades. They prompted me to learn concepts, however, when I started the high school, I was dispirited. I wanted to be an architect but found subjects dull and teachers always promoted us to prepare for the university entrance exam. I found nothing on subjects so my scores were lower than before. This led me to stop studying them and to change my career plans.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that grades decrease students motivation to learn. This is because when they are exposed to plenty of exams and supposed to be successful on them, they are prone to study just for getting high scores and leave their ambitions for their future career path since they get lower scores on required classes.