Do you agree or disagree with the following opinion? The most important goal of education is to help people educate themselves?

Although educators have been putting a lot of effort in understanding the goal of education, there are still debates on whether or not, the goal of education lie in helping students to educate themselves. In my point of view, I strongly disagree with this opinion.

Have you ever heard your teacher said the goal of education is to help people to educate themselves? On the surface, the idea sounds extremely convincing. However, it is an excuse made by some teachers who can’t deliver knowledge and skills effectively. Many educators don’t have passion in teaching young individuals, and they use this notion as a way to stay lazy. For example, some math teachers never impart knowledge in class, but ask students to read the textbooks by themselves. As a result, students end up with poor academic performance.

Since the world has been changing dramatically, it is barely possible to learn new knowledge without other’s assistance. Therefore, the goal of education is not about educating oneself, but about gaining knowledge efficiently in order to keep up with the drastically changing world. For example, more and more computer software are developed nowadays, young individuals are required to learn new computer skills, which can’t be done on their own. As a result, the goal of education lies in imparting new skills effectively rather than help students to educate themselves.

Finally, in addition to gaining skills and knowledge, developing emotional well-being also plays an important role in educating the student. The most important goal of education is to help students have the empathy for human being, express their opinions and feeling, and offer love and care for those who are suffering. Guidance from adults or educators is important for cultivating young individuals to become confident and develop healthy well-being. Compared to educating themselves, psychological success is far more important than educating oneself.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that helping people to educate themselves is just a lie. The goal of education lies in keeping up with the cutting-edge technologies and developing confident individuals not educating themselves.