Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The ability to maintain a small number of friends for a long time is more important to happiness than the ability to make new friends easily.

Friends are the people who can support and delight us in our life journey. Some people like to keep in touch with small number friends for a lasting time; while others prefer making new friends. As far as I am concerned, I agree that people maintain a few friends for a long time is more essential to happiness.

First of all, long and lasting friends are more familiar with who we are. There is no need to pretend ourselves in front of these old friends because they already know us well. On the contrast, people always want to be best and care a lot of details when getting along with new friends which will put pressure on such relationship that may make people unhappy. For example, people values first impression very much so that they will behave solemnly and talk gently when meet a new friend. Getting along with others under such uneasy atmosphere will ruin one’s mood. Therefore, people will feel much joyful when getting along with old friends because they can be themselves at ease.

Another point is that most of the old friends have the common interests and goals. People interact with those who have the same ambition can inspire each other and feel more accomplishment. Most of the long lasting friends are usually initiated since school and colleges, they study in the same field or join the same clubs so that they often have the same insight which helps maintain their friendships. Take myself for example, my friends and I major in the chemical engineering so that we always study together and share experiences with each other. Because we all dedicated in the similar industry so that we know the ups and downs in both academic and career; therefore, we can support mutually and strength our friendships.

In conclusion, friends are indeed important in one’s life. With the old and lasting friends, people need not to guise themselves so that they can feel free and be happier with these friends. Furthermore, old friends have the common interests provide the joyful not only on academic but also on the career and the life.