Do you agree or disagree with the following statement The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily Use specific reasons and ex

No one, in his or her right mind, can deny the fact that humans are sociable beings and they need to belong to a group, whether family or friends. As to the quality of friendships, some people are of the opinion that one should maintain a small group of friends for a long period of time, while other people think otherwise. I, personally, subscribe to the former notion since by doing so one can rely on their friends in need and boost the state of their well-being.

First and foremost, evolution can perfectly explain why we need to make real friends on which our survival highly depends. In ancient times, individuals who had faced formidable difficulties and challenges could not survive on their own, as the likelihood of being eaten by an aggressive animal was high. Additionally, superficial friends and relationships did not motivate enough early humans to save others at the expense of their precious lives. Therefore, prehistoric people learned to ask for help from their true friends, and such crucial behavior has passed through genes to our generation. Thus, individuals who enjoy a profound relationship with their friends can easily ask them to help without any embarrassment, which is sadly lacking in shallow relationships.

Secondly, a strong bond with a few friends plays a significant role in boosting our happiness and well-being. Although enjoying many new friends sounds entertaining, people who have innumerable friends feel lonely, inasmuch as they are considered merely an acquaintance and do not really care about emotional needs. On the other hand, if one invests his or her time on maintaining a few friends, which is extremely energy-consuming, all their efforts would be paid off when they feel a great sense of satisfaction with sharing their moments, either joyful or tragic, with beloved friends.

With all the above-mentioned reasons taken into account, it stands to reason that the advantages of having a few quality friends for a long period of time during our lifespan outweigh the merits of having many, yet superficial friends.