People who develop many different skills are more successful than people who focus on one skill only

Every person in his or her life span faces quite a few challenging situations in which they have to assertively decide about their future. One of these decisions has to do with how they spend their time and energy on developing their skills. Some people believe they should stay focused on one skill to become successful, while others think otherwise. I, personally, subscribe to the former notion since they can become professional and serve their society in an excellent fashion.

First, nowadays, in this modern era which is progressing gallopingly, jobs have become specialized, thus requiring everyone to dedicate themselves to gain experience in only one field. On the contrary, in the past few centuries, people's needs were simple and they can answer their wants through their imperfect abilities on their own. Today, however, they have to broaden their knowledge to be considered an expert and fulfill others' complicated desires. Additionally, one cannot survive in such a competitive world by developing various skills, but rather he or she should deepen their knowledge to earn enough money to live a prosperous life.

Humans are sociable beings and their success must be profitable not only for themselves but also for their society. In an imaginary world, if one has inefficiently numerous skills, there would have been no qualified specialist to ask for help in critical, desperate situations. Hence, society cannot properly overcome the difficulty when they face adversity. Furthermore, the cost of possessing one specific skill is much less than learning plentiful ones, in that deep learning only happens when one makes mistakes fearlessly, which is truly extravagant. Thus, I am of the opinion that the government should take effective measures to pave the way for every citizen to become an experienced specialist in a major of which they are fond.

With all the aforementioned reasons taken into account, it stands to reason that being single-minded and focused in a certain major is more advantageous since one can lead fruitful life and benefits his or her society with less cost. Who, in their right mind, can consider a master of none a successful person?