Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A glance at people's attitudes toward friendship brings to the light a question that has been asked several times, namely, whether it is more important for your happiness to keep your close friends over a long period or to make many new friends easily. Although some people state that a large group of friends can bring you joy and satisfaction, I, as a person with a lot of friends with different cultures and nationalities, believe the opposite. Life taught me to maintain my close friends despite distances and difficulties, to have more respect and love through my short lifetime.

The foremost reason why I am supporting this idea lies in the fact that we cannot know people completely unless after hardships and troubles. All people are nice, kind, and reliable when you are wealthy, happy, and server, but when you encounter a problem, only your true friends stand by you to support and help you. I passed this lesson from life several years ago when I came to the United State, and I had no acquaintance in the new town. It was really hard for me to communicate with people, and I was alone at home most of the time. Gradually, I started to come out of my cave and made some friends at our local church. Everything was great until I had an important exam and nobody agreed to take care of my daughter for four hours. At the end, one of my former friends drove two hours from another city to assist me with the complicated situation. I cannot forget her help and kindness even until death. Therefore, even if all people around the world are your friends, none of them protects you except close friends.

Another subtle point that I should deem is the fact that our time and energy are limited, and we cannot put a lot of energy and money on finding new friends. When I was younger, most of my classmates called me when they needed a person to consult with, and I always sacrificed myself to make them happy. After one year, my scores dropped dramatically, and I understood it is not possible to aid all people I know. I have to concentrate on my responsibilities and prioritize critical tasks. If a person wants to be successful, he must recognize what is crucial and what is not. As a matter of fact, being a consultant is not our job, and we cannot solve all problems that people face. Thus, having diverse friends get you in more troubles than bring you happiness and affection.

Admittedly, loose connections with different people are essential when it comes to finding jobs. As a business student, all of our professors recommend us to maintain our relationship with our colleagues because one day, we need one person to assist us with more knowledge and experience. When I wanted to find a job, one of my teammates in the economy course referred me to his company, and they hired me. These types of connections are really important in the United state. Nevertheless, I still think it is slightly different from true friendship because we do not have any obligations in loose connections. Indeed, when we are not required to spend a lot of time to keep relationships is desirable.

Due to the aforementioned arguments explored in the previous statements, I highly recommend people to stick to their close friends and do not waste their time for new relationships. My experience proves that there are a few benefits of having numerous friends compared to its disadvantages.