Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The best way to truly relax and reduce stress is to spend time alone.

A glance at people’s attitudes toward the stress brings to the light a question that has been asked several times, namely, whether it is better to spend time alone to relax or not. It goes without saying that people’s preference is not unanimous, so although some people prefer to hang out with their close friends to feel relaxed, others like to stay alone and focus on their hobbies. As a new mother, I definitely would rather stay in a calm and tranquil place alone without anybody else.

The foremost reason why I am supporting this idea lies in the fact that I am normally surrounded by a lot of people, and it makes me tired to listen and talk to different people at the same time. Since my brain is occupied with a lot of sounds and noises, it is a better choice to let it rest and retrieve its energy in silence. Recent studies conducted at Georgia State University show that people who do not have any private time are more likely to experience severe depression and anxiety due to an overload of their brain. If the mind is always exposed to stress, noise, and light, it does not have time to rest and recover its functionality; therefore, the depression comes after. In other words, if a person wants to stay healthy mentally, he needs to spend sometimes a day alone.

Another subtle point that I should deem is the fact that in the group of friends and families you will have more conflict about a group’s activities which attract all members. To be more specific, even you and your close friend do not have completely the same objectives and mindsets, which causes disagreements and arguments. For example, when I need to have some rest, I watch comedy movies when the light is on, while my husband prefers to watch dramas in a dark room. This problem prevents us from watching movies together, specifically when we are under a lot of pressure. In fact, being in a group makes people more tired and exhausted, and it is a waste of energy rather than retrieve energy.

Due to the aforementioned argument explored in the previous statements, I highly recommend people to have some private time during days to experience a better life without stress and conflict.