Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Parents today are more involved in their children’s education than were parents in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Education is by far one of the most significant factors that can shape children's minds and affect their future lives. Views differ when it comes to the issue of whether parents nowadays play a more important role in their children's education compared to the past. The growing importance of having education as well as various kinds of obstacles in children's learning has provoked parents to get more involved in their children's education.

The first aspect to point out is that today education has become a significant part of people's lives. There a number of reasons that contribute to this progressive focus on education. A simple reason might be its crucial role in children's future career. In the past, you would notice a number of people even though performing well at their careers did not have a university degree. Consequently, the companies did not have such penchant to compare different employees since they were equally adept by being trained by themselves. However, the variety of facilities for students to continue their education have increased the number of graduates which are hoping to be absorbed by a distinguished company. The intense competition permits the more ingenious students to overcome. Parents know this situation can hamper their children's opportunities and feel worried about what would happen to them in the future. That is why they do their best to motivate him to put all his efforts into excelling at school in order to be qualified enough to find a good career.

A further more subtle point is that nowadays a number of distractions hinder student's learning. Parents are aware that one of the adverse effects of the rapid pace of technology is attracting students' attention and making them more reluctant to focus on their studies. To illustrate more, a mother cannot withstand perpetual complains of his son's teacher regarding his poor performance in mathematics for example. Not only does she know his son not study at all, but also she has warned him several times that he will be punished if he keeps playing computer games and surfing the Internet. Knowing that imposing obligations by getting his mobile phone or computer from him do not work, she and her husband decide to motivate their son by a number of rewards or other persuasive means. They indirectly try to make him interested in playing outside rather than sitting in front of the computer by inspiring him that socializing with other children is so beneficial, and he can make lots of friends and have more fun. Therefore, they can divert some of his attention to other things rather than computer and cell phone in the hope of providing more incentive for him to study hard.

To summarize, the increasing importance of education and a vast range of distractions in children's concentration have made it inevitable for parents to deal with their education more precisely. It is high time we stopped overlooking the fact that children in the past were not confronted with a lot of things which enabled them to study well without being under the supervision of parents. Parents know how the situation has altered and are doing all their best to lead a successful life for their children.