Do you agree or disagree with the following statement The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily Use specific reasons and ex

It goes without saying that in this progressive, modernized world where we live, human beings have been struggling to find ways that lead to their happiness. Finding friends and maintaining friendship is among these ways that will be inductive to humans' happiness. While many people hold the opinion that maintaining friendship with smaller number of people is much more beneficial for them and will lead to their happiness, others stand at the other side of the continuum, believing that having the ability to make many friends easily is more effective in one's happiness. As far as I am concerned, I believe the later opinion and the reasons to substantiate my viewpoint are elaborated upon hereunder.

To begin with, being capable of making friends easily is a precious gift since it makes communication much easier. It is crystal clear that mankind needs to start a relationship over at every moment of his or her life; thus, being endowed with the ability to make friends as easily as possible is an invaluable skill. Undeniably, people cannot feel a shadow of happiness if they live in isolation, especially when they get out of their permanent habitat and move to somewhere else. Under such a circumstance, maintain a friendship does not help the person, since they have to make new friends in the target environment. A personal experience of mine can drive this fact home. I lived in Iran my whole life and I had a small number of close friends. Having applied and being accepted in the United States, I had to move to a new country in order to pursue my PhD program. Although my family thought, I would have had difficulty making myself to adjust living in a new country, surprisingly I survived. Thanks to my inherent ability of making friends easily, I started going to different clubs in the campus and made a number of friends easily. If I was not able to communicate and make friends easily, I could not live in a new environment far from my family and old friends.

Furthermore, although maintaining friendship can be beneficial, it is not as exciting as making new friends all the time. To put it in other words, if a person is equipped with the talent to start a relationship easily, a new flavor of life will be added to that of his since each person and friend has a special characteristics. What is more, the life will be much more colorful and bright when new people comes to one's life. For example, I have been friends with some of my classmate for more than ten years. Although they are an important part of my life, being with them does not give me a sense of well-being and trigger since we have been talking about our ordinary life every time we meet. Having become friends with some new people in the university cafe, I feel like a new person because each of them has a new story in their life and it seems as if I am experiencing a new journey in my own life. As a result, my routine and dismal life with my old friends has been replaced with a more colorful and exciting one.

In conclusion, having the aforementioned reasons and examples into account, I believe that the ability to make friends easily is more beneficial than maintaining a friendship for a long period. Not only do people improve their communication skills, but also they can give their life a new flavor and excitement.