Do you agree or disagree with the following statement The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily Use specific reasons and ex

It is obvious that human beings are social creatures and communication and making friendships are from the crucial aspects of their life. Views may vary when it comes to the issue that having a small number of friends over a long period of times may contribute to happiness or making many new friends easily. Different people will adopt different issue toward this issue depending on their characters and experiences, and personally I am of the opinion that making friendships which will last for a long period of time is more important and is more beneficial and pleasant for people. I feel this way because of some reasons which I will explore in the following paragraphs:

The first and foremost reason which should be mentioned is that, In fact we make friends to support and accompany us in different situations such as happiness, sadness or difficulties, and it is obvious that when people know each other for a long time as they spend long time with each other they are aware of each other’s personality and characters, therefor, for example when ever each of them face a problem they could offer best effective solution to each other based on their personalities and abilities. While people who know each other just for a short time could not do this for each other. For example, in the first year of my marriage, whenever I had a problem with my husband, when I consulted with my old friends, they guided me correctly that how to manage my relationship, because they know my personality and my weakness well and in fact I could trust their suggestion which was really worth full for me.

The other reason which should be noted is that, old friend can be counted as a family member, and they will do whatever they can for each other, because of the deep feeling which is between them. In fact, they feel responsible for their friendships. They do not pay attention to unimportant issues and they don’t judge each other. Whatever they do is just for making each other happy in order to have a better feeling. For instance, when I’m not in a good mood my old friends come to my house and they try to change my mood without asking me a question about the reason of my bad mood. However, I remember that when I was in university, whenever I was not in a good mood, my roommate asked me different questions and she begun to judge me and in fact it was not important to her to try to do something for making me happy.

To draw my conclusion, according to aforementioned reasons, I strongly believe that old friends always are more beneficial for people, because as they know each other’s personality, weakness and ability therefor they could consult each other well, and In fact they can be count as your family member who do everything for each other without any judgment and expectation.