Do you agree or disagree with the following statement After completing high school students should take at least a year off to work or travel before they begin studying at a university Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Truth be told, studying at university as soon as the the high school is completed has generated numerous controversies these days. Some people contend that students should start their academic program at university immidiately after complering high school. Others hold the view that students can allocate some time to other activities like traveling or work before starting their proffesional program. I consider myself in the latter group and I will elaborate on my viewpoint in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, when students attend some workplaces before pursuing their study, they have the chance to get familiar with work atmosphere and its requirements. It would have a profound impact on their insight and enhance their ability to select the best major that fits them. To clarify, take a personal experience as an example: when I wanted to participate in the universities' programs, I was so confused which major is the best choice for me. I was ambivilant about pursuing my study as a mechanical engineer. Thus, I decided to work as an intern in a petrochemical company to be able to investigate the pros and cons of this job position. After working for about one year, I found that this work is not intriguing for me, and thus, I changed my mind about the major. Now, I am studying health science at university and I am euphoric about my decision. If I had not experienced workplace of a mechanical engineer, I would have made a mistake that had decisive impact on my future. Hence, It is crucial to allocate time to work to enhance our knowledge before starting academic program at university.

Secondly, traveling and working pave the way for students to experience numerous situations that would have a prominent influence on them. By traveling to new cities, students can widen their insight, get familier with diverse cultures, and even find job positions. For instance, one of my friends, named Sara, decided to go to China after completation of high school. In China, she went to a restaurant that served a special food. She realized that this food was very delicious and she tried to learn the recepi of the food. After she came back, she opened a chinees erestuarant, and now, she is exceedingly prosperous, and infact, this travel made her a rich girl. Thus, traveling would help students to find their interests and talents.

To sum up, taking into account what was already mentioned, I believe that travel and work not only would help students to understand about their inherent talents but also would help them to make a rational decision about the best major for them.