Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

After completing high school, students should take at least a year off to work or travel before they begin studying at a university.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The year after high school has a substantial impact on the students' life. I believe the students should begin their studies at university immediately after they have finished high school. Otherwise, they will lose there precious days doing nothing. Moreover, if they take a year off after high school, they will forget what they have learned in school, which in turn will significantly undermine the effectiveness of higher education.

To begin with, I genuinely think the young adult most not waste their invaluable days. What they do in those days will have a direct impact on how their future will form. Because of that, they need to plan their days after highschool painstakingly and thoroughly. I can recall an experience that is a compelling example of how I wasted my time and faced the consequences of my neglect. When I have finished my high school, I traveled for eight months, while my friends started their bachelor's program at the university. After a few months, I felt depressed and alone. I always was thinking that I am left behind, which was true. Because of the travels, I was not able to get a good job. As a result, I was stuck with my debts, which I did not know how to pay them off.

Furthermore, I consider a long break after the highschool dangerous. You can potentially forget what you have learned in the school years, or struggle to remember the essential details of the academic subjects you knew previously. For instance, the time I graduated from high school, I was incredibly good at math. Unfortunately, by the time I finished my travels, I could not recall even the most rudimentary methods to solve an equation. It took me another year of golden days to reeducate myself on the maths in order to get admitted to a university. That year I struggle even harder with math than the time I first learned the topics. Additionally, it was mentally a tiresome task to re-read the same material once I was fluent.

To conclude, I consider the year after the high school a life-changing moment that should not be wasted with unimportant activities; it will have many consequences on their future. High school graduate should pursue their university education right after high school. If not so, they will feel left behind, and a return would be costly considering their time and energy.