Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The study of history is very compelling and useful. I am of the opinion that every student, independent of their field of study, should take a history course. I feel this way because future generations can benefit from their ancestors' experience, which will help them not to do the very same wrong actions and decisions as they had done. Furthermore, the study of history can be appealing if it is well understood. The student will learn about other countries' cultures, as well.

Firstly, I think the study of history can help students to learn about past events that caused many conflicts and disagreements. As a result, the current and future generations will apply what they have learned in real-life scenarios, which may even stop an unexpected war from breaking out. I have a compelling experience myself. The time I was in high school, we had a course on the contemporary history of Iran. In the class, we have learned how my country got involved in the wars that could have been prevented if the people of that age perform particular actions. I am sure in the future, if the same situation happens, the student from that class will be able to recall what they have studied in the class, and they will take the right action if necessary.

Secondly, I think studying history can be fun and exciting if it has been taught with an interactive method. An interactive history course can help students gain knowledge about the history of their country and the world while it is amusing and entertaining. Additionally, they will grip on the past and currently existing culture, which they might be unaware of. For instance, when I took a history course on the Khan Academy website, it taught me a variety of subjects on the history of the world that I had not possessed even a piece of information about before. The course could make me busy for a couple of hours without me feel the passing of the time. In that course, I learned about Roman culture during the medieval period too.

In conclusion, I genuinely believe that all the students must take at least one required history course. Because not only can they learn about past events, but also it is an inspiring topic, which can help them to grasp more about different cultures in the world.