Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All school teachers should be required to attend courses every 5 years to update their knowledge.

It is established beyond incertitude that throughout the eventful history of the world we live in, where the borders of people's comprehension of complex aspects of the universe seem to broaden ceaselessly, precise knowledge has played a paramount role in all societies. As the passage of time introduced people to endless issues to concur, all human beings experienced the instinctive urge to achieve and spread advanced information that could resolve the latest problems arising. One controversial question often raised regarding the educational system as the center of science expansion is whether teachers should be required to take courses every five years to update their knowledge. As the substantial divergence of attitudes toward this heated debate grows by the day, I personally agree with the statement and strongly assert that it is a vital measure to be taken. In the succeeding paragraphs, I will vindicate my standpoint by delving into three salient reasons.

Ranking above all others, the first and foremost reason is that up-to-date knowledge undoubtedly leads to the functional improvement of the society in many ways. As scientists utilize the advanced modern equipment supplemented with the new technology, new discoveries disaffirm prior theories and new ideas displace previous assumptions. For students of today's societies who are the citizens and legislators of tomorrow, if they are given invalid and outdated information taught by the teachers, the future of the world would be jeopardized. To illustrate this, with the rapid change of medical techniques, if a teacher fails to provide students with the latest knowledge regarding their specialties, the students will not acquire valid learning and will come to be unreliable doctors who can endanger the lives of many people and lead the society to irreversible consequences.

The second significant point which is equally important is that the aforementioned measure contributes to the enhancement of responsibility and participation among people. As teachers feel the urge to perform the duties assigned to them as satisfactory as possible, indications of responsibility emerge in their attitudes and take over their relationships with others. On the other hand, when students witness the teacher's dedication to their job in order to help the students succeed, they naturally tend to participate in the class and cooperate more with the teacher as a token of gratitude. Consequently, students as the majority of people, boost the spirit of participation and cooperation in the society through their vast circles of relationships and make these praised traits inextricably intertwined with people's culture. As Joe Miller, one of the most predominant sociologists of the last century, stated in his latest article," the obstacles between our world and the phenomenal world of collaboration is to be eliminated by the ones seeking knowledge from responsible teachers."

Finally, as the last point worth mentioning, the psychological consequences of feeling inadequate at work, which could be caused by the lack of up-to-date information regarding the subject of the field, could have radical impacts on one's life and welfare. Teachers who present obsolete information to the students against the backdrop of increasing new methods, tend to experience the feeling of insufficiency which could lead to severe depression in many cases. For instance, when the research department of UCLA, the University of California in Los Angeles, realized that the topic mentioned warrants research attention, a series of experiments were conducted on patients suffering from depression and social anxiety to examine the underlying causes. As the scientists attempted to scrutinize the information collected, the results of the observation indicated that 69% of the patients had been former teachers who had preferred to stick with the traditional methods of teaching.

In summation, taking all the aforementioned into account, the preceding paragraphs accentuate my claim and it can indubitably be concluded that not only is it crucial for the teachers to upgrade their knowledge for the sake of the students, but it also plays a fundamental role in the society and their own mental state. I personally contend that it is safe to assume in the foreseeable future, the significance of the impact that teachers have on students will be even more pivotal. given the increasing number of students, it is highly suggested that the government dedicates critical attention to the sufficiency of the educational system.