Do you agree or disagree? It is impossible to always be completely honest with your friends.

There is a famous proverb that says, “Honesty is the best policy.” According to this proverb, being honest in all situations in the life, making it a utopia for any individual. However, there are some exceptions that are impossible to be completely honest with friends. I do believe that honesty depends on environment and condition in which we live and it is not plausible to do the same in different situations and facing with different individuals. I will completely elaborate on my standpoint in the following paragraphs.

The first and foremost reason is that usually there are some issues which are private in everyone’s life. Facing ones who are eager to know about our private life, it is better to conceal the truth. Indeed, being honest facing people who are not very close friends cause a great number of problems for us. For example, there are always people who want to know when we are going to marry or when we are going to complete our education. If people do not hide their own private life’s issues, it would lead to spreading rumors about their private life and encountering others’ interference in their life. Moreover, get into this negative situation may have a negative effect on individuals’ decision-making process, bringing new problems for them. For instance, because of other’s interference, ones may decide to engage with an inappropriate person and experience a bad marriage.

Secondly, it is also important to bear in mind that if we look at this issue from social aspects, saying truth regarding people’s feeling about their common friends may cause negative effects in their relationships. In another word, telling their wrong feeling about a friend’s behavior to another unreliable friend, people may destroy unwantedly their friendly relationship. In addition to this, in order to avoid problematic issues among people, in some situations it is better to do not say the truth. A well-known Persian proverb confirms this idea, “Many a white lie better than a seditious truth.” I mean, people should behave maturely against untrustworthy people and do not say the truth.

In conclusion, with all this taken into account, it can undoubtedly conclude that it is not plausible to say completely truth facing with everyone and everywhere. Because we all have some privacy issues in our lives and also, there may be inquisitive people around us eager for others’ private problems it is not make a sense to say always the truth. Moreover, facing unreliable people, it is strongly suggested that be cautious about close friends and friendly relationships.