Do you agree or disagree? It is impossible to always be completely honest with your friends.

Have you ever been cheated by your best friends or your beloved families? How did you feel at that moment? Angry? Disappointed? Fine? Happy? People always talk about truth and lies and form different opinion groups. There has been a hot discussion recently which highlights the ultimate significance of honesty and claims that people should be entirely honest to others when socializing in public. From my perspective of view, honesty is indeed important, however, it does not mean that we should always tell the truth in any situation, because white lies could help us avoid unnecessary problems in social life.

To begin with, it surely makes sense for people to say honesty is crucially important, for the reason that honesty means reliability, means you are trustworthy. Have you ever read a survey on Facebook about this topic? Last year, the netcitizens had a fierce discussion about what do you value when making friends with others, and it turned out honesty was the top choice, as netcitizens commented that being honest and telling the truth are the basic criteria for friends. Just take two of my classmates, Mark and Oliver, as an example. They used to be good friends, like a pair of twins. They studied together, ate together, walked together, even lived together. No one could expect such a friendship would end up with an exam. Oliver was extremely disappointed when he saw Mark was cheating, and he could not accept a liar as his best friend.

Admitting that honesty is necessary for social life, I am not in support of the claim that we should always tell the truth in any situation, simply because truths hurt people so badly. I believe we all have experienced such situations: your friends have spent months in the gym and been on a diet for quite a long time to optimize her weight and body contour, and she came to you for your comments on her slightly observable improvement; your mates have stayed in the makeup room for hours to dress her up for an evening party, and then came to you with the dress you might not like. What would you say? Are you going to tell the truth even if you know you might hurt their feelings? Truth really hurts and it brings terrible consequences. Your friends might feel embarrassed or frustrated, and highly likely, the friendship comes to an end.

Therefore, we come to the idea of creating white lies. It is not saying that we should tell lies, but we choose to cover part of the truth and try to please the others, ideally to make both sides happy and satisfied. It is a common sense that most people hate to be challenged or criticized or to be embarrassed in public, while truth would easily cause others uncomfortable. Back to the previous scenes, when your friends just asked whether they became thinner, or how they looked like, a simple and friendly white lie would not hurt but help forward the conversation. If you insist on telling the truth in any situation, you certainly maintain your reputation of bearing integrity, but you will not become a social star.

In short, it is important to be honest, but do not be extremely honest.