Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: All university students should take basic science courses regardless of their field of study.

As a student majoring in Computer Science, I was required to take basic science courses like Physics and Biology in the first two years in my undergraduate study. I was really frustrated and upset about it, and almost all of my classmates felt this way as well. As far as I am concerned, I think university students shouldn't be required to take basic science courses if they don't study in these fields. I will state my reasons as the following.

First all of, time is limited and it is important how to allocate the time. If students are asked to take the basic science courses, they may do not have much time to study subjects in their own major, which leads to bad performance in the latter. Take one of my classmates Tom as an example. When he was in the high school, he was keen on programming. He participated in various programming contests and was awarded many times, which gave him a chance to enter the university. On the contrary, he was not interested in biology. To pass the exam, he spent lots of time and made a great effort to study biology. Though he passed the exam eventually, he didn't perform well in the courses related to programming, because preparing biology exam took so much time that he didn't have time to practice his programming. In this instance, learning biology could affect Tom performance in programming, which Tom was good at, not mention to those who were not good at programming at all.

Secondly, learning basic science courses can be a burden of students. Even when we only learn the subjects required in our own fields, we may feel overwhelmed in that subjects are too many and some of them are quite challenging. When I was in the second year, I was required to study algorithms which needed quite a lot practice and Physics, which was one of the most difficult science courses in my mind, at the same time. In order to get good marks in both classes, I worked really hard, such as sleeping late and getting up early, studying all the day even in the weekends, giving up do the routine exercises. My health was not very well that time. Now I think back of that period of time, I wish I was not required to take the Physical course so that I could live in a happier life.

In conclusion, I oppose that the university students should take basic science courses if they do not major in that subject.