Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Recently, there has been raised a debate concerning all the university students have to take history courses. For the statement, the voices are various. Some people assert that by studying history the students will gain a range of transferable skills, from informed citizenship and critical thinking, so it is necessary for all of them to study history regardless of their majors. Others, however, maintain that studying history should not be a requirement for all the students but an optional. From my perspective, there more merits than demerits to study history. In this essay, I would like to take a closer look at the statement based on the following points.

The most immediate point is that there’s more history than knowing when and where certain events occurred. It’s a common misperception that studying history simply involves remembering people, events, key dates, and places, etc. The who, what, when and where types of questions are just the start of it. Historians are far more interested in exploring how and why questions – that is, interpreting events to better understand how they unfolded and why they occurred. Take, for instance, World war I and II. Why did the UK change the attitude to the Soviet Union after world war II? Can the difference of the national system or the western and eastern values explain the division between the UAS and the Soviet Union? Therefore, with knowing so much information about the world, it is reasonable for all the students to take history courses.

Another point is worth mentioning is that studying history can help students land great jobs. A history major can lead to all kinds of careers. Some of the more popular options include government positions all kinds of NGOs, teaching, journalism and the media, and so on. Some of the world’s most influential business leaders share a common experience of studying history at university. Prominent examples include: Li meng, the CEO of Chinese Express, completed a history major at college. Thus, for some students who major computer science, mathematics can not only find a job in the field of science but history-related jobs.

Further lending credence to my position is that studying history enables us to develop a better understanding of the world in which we live. Building knowledge and understanding of historical events and trends, especially over the past century, enables us to develop a much greater appreciation for current events today. For instance, a philosopher Chen ping, from Zhejiang university once said: “Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it”. And if we heed Chen’s warning, then remembering history – and learning important lessons from it – should help us to avoid previous mistakes and prevent previous misdeeds from happening again. That is more instructive for all the students in their life than other natural science courses.

In a nutshell, granted, it is important for university students to master the skill and absorb knowledge which particularly benefits for their career and helps them to find a decent job after graduation, but studying history brings many upsides to the students no matter in life or career in different majors.