Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People might be buried in deep thought when they initially see the statement governments should fund the arts more than athletics. Some people argue as if it is the commonly accepted truth that the arts should be supported because it plays a vital role in our lives, while others hold a different idea that the advantages of spending more money on athletics outweigh the arts. Frankly speaking, from my perspective, there are more demerits than merits to let the government subsidize athletics. In this essay, I would like to take a closer look at the statement based on the following points.

The most immediate point is that putting government money into top-level athletics promotes the sport in general. It is as clear as daylight that successful athletes are good role models for young people. Medal-winning success at the Olympics and World Championships can encourage more people to take part in sport. Part of any government’s job is to promote good health, so they should put money into anything which encourages more people to have an active lifestyle.

Another point worth mentioning is that international sport is good for the national spirit, helping to unite a country in support of its team and athletes. It is widely admitted that sporting success boosts national pride and happiness, as well as making the country more respected around the world. For instance, Guo jingjing is the world champion of women’s diving in the Olympic games. After she won the gold medal with breaking the world records, more and more foreign countries paid attention to women’s diving of China. Not only the athletes but also the whole Chinese national diving team was highly acclaimed by the world.

Further lending credence to my position is that being a top sportsman or woman means hours of training every day in order to become the very best. It is not possible to train in this way while working in a normal job. It is crucially important for governments to pay for them and give the best equipment and coaching if we want to see top athletes competing at the highest level. For me, hardly can the athletes or the Olympic teams succeed without sufficient money.

Having weighed the points above, I have no choice but to reiterate my personal point of view that governments should spend more money on athletics rather than the arts. Although the arts play a vital role in modeling our perspectives and enriching our lives, athletics have impacted the nation and the public positively and efficiently.