Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Children over the age of 15 should be allowed to vote.

Although People in the democracy have the freedom to elect their leaders, letting an individual vote is a great responsibility. So there has been no shortage of debate about who can vote. However, the question is did the 15 years is an appropriate age to vote? Some people believe it is perfectly acceptable to vote when they are 15 years old because they are mature enough to take the correct decision. On the other hand, I personally feel it is not a good idea to allow people to vote at a very young age for reasons I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, selecting best leader is a serious task because it impacts on the whole nation. However, the children from very young age, they just came out their schooling and they don’t have a minimum idea about the importance of their vote and its impact. If a person goes for voting without any prior knowledge gives a vulnerable results and this is not good for the society. Recently conducted Omak community election is the best example for this. The community allowed young children to vote and the result was favorable to least experience leader. What more, the whole community was suffering with poor development such as lack of proper roads and sanitation.

In addition to that, people at young age are more influenced with their parents, because they don’t have enough knowledge to take their own decisions. eventually, their parents determine to whom to they vote which is not good for the society. My cousin Alex is best example for this. When he was very young he got his vote. Since he don’t have basic idea about the politics, every time he asks his parents. What more they suggest him as per their own interest.

In conclusion, even though everyone in the society has a right to elect their leaders it is necessary to get enough understanding before they go for voting. Young people don’t have enough prior knowledge about politics and more likely to influence with their parents. So I personally recommend fifteen years is not a good enough age to vote.